Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

This is SunRain Plone Theme
You are here: Home / Elections

Student Elections

Click now to nominate banner 

Student Elections are a chance for YOU to make a difference, either by nominating yourself for a position, or by voting for candidates who you think will represent you best.

Becoming an elected HISA Officer is a unique opportunity to change people’s lives for the better. UHI and the Colleges need students to make better decisions that effect every aspect of student lives. HISA officer roles are suited to people that are passionate about improving students’ experiences, initiating change and making UHI and the Colleges a better place for everyone.

We are currently running an Election for the Shetland Islands.

 To nominate yourself in the 2019 Shetland Islands Elections visit:

Shetland Islands Elections 2019


This is your chance to vote for the students to represent Shetland!

HISA local officers look after the best interests of students in your area, they work to represent your ideas and concerns; they sit on committees where you study to ensure there is student input into all policies and plans that affect learning, teaching and your student experience.

There are three local officer roles available in the election:

  • Depute President for Shetland Islands

  • Lerwick Local Officer

  • NAFC Local Officer

The Depute President for the Shetland Islands is the lead student representative for all students at Shetland College UHI and NAFC Marine Centre UHI.

The Lerwick Local Officer and the NAFC Local Officer lead on representation specific to Shetland College UHI (including students studying in Mareel and Islesburgh) and NAFC Marine Centre UHI respectively.

Click here to nominate yourself:

Full role descriptions for each individual role can be found here.

Read the Candidate Guidebook.

If you're having any difficulties nominating yourself, please contact the

Key Dates

Nominations Open: Monday 16th September 10am

Nominations Close: Thursday 3rd October 5pm

Voting Opens : Monday 7th October 12pm

Voting closes: Thursday 10th October 1pm